RealID Sample

A sample of the new REAL ID.

U.S. residents will soon be required to present a new form of identification to board airplanes, enter military bases and access most federal facilities.

The identification, called “REAL ID” will be available from certified locations beginning July 1 and will be required for certain activities by October 2020.

The only certified center in Rutherford County is the Murfreesboro Driver Service Center at 1035 Samsonite Blvd. in Murfreesboro. Another certified location in the area is the Nashville/Hickory Hollow Driver Services and Reinstatement Center, located at 5216 Hickory Hollow Pkwy.

in Antioch.

There are no certified locations in Cannon County.

The national measure comes after the Real ID Act of 2005 was passed. It established minimum security standards for state issued licenses, according to a release from Tennessee’s Department of Safety and Homeland Security.

“(REAL ID) creates nationwide effort to prevent terrorism, reduce identity theft and fraud and improve reliability of identity documents by states,” according to the release.

Residents will be required to present proof of citizenship or legal presence, proof of full social security number, two proofs of Tennessee residency and documentation of any name changes that have occurred.

The IDs will have three levels of security features and will be marked with a gold star at the top of them, according to the release.

Passports and some other forms of ID will still be acceptable for air travel, according to the TSA’s website. Driver’s licenses issued after July 1 at facilities that aren’t certified to administer REAL IDs will say “Not for Federal Identification” at the top, meaning they aren’t REAL IDs.

Residents will not need a REAL ID to drive, vote, purchase alcohol or cigarettes, access hospitals, visit the post office, access federal courts or apply and receive for federal benefits.

Recommended for you