Murfreesboro City Schools has announced its 2020 Teachers of the Year. Teachers from each school were nominated for the prestigious education award given by the Tennessee Department of Education.

Twenty-six teachers were chosen by their peers based on their commitment to teaching excellence both in and outside of the classroom.

The School Level Teachers of the Year are: Discovery School - Teresa McCarthy, Kelley Kleppinger; John Pittard Elementary - Deborah Collier, Molly Oliver; Cason Lane Academy - Shay Wilson, Latasha McFarland; Salem Elementary - Kinsey Johnson, Cynthia Martin; Overall Creek Elementary - Sara Brown, Christy Honey; Scales Elementary - Kimberly Hix, Isormari Pozo; Bradley Academy - Abbey Sanders, Regan Clark; Erma Siegel Elementary - Brandy Cheatham, Margaret Lane; Reeves-Rogers Elementary - Renee Maurtua, Danielle Johnson; Black Fox Elementary - Kim Gambill, Meredith Patrum; Northfield Elementary - Judy Gritton, Rachel Bjork; Hobgood Elementary - Terri Guess, Corynn York; Mitchell-Neilson School - Heather Konyar Curry, Beverly Sanford.

Rachel Bjork (Northfield) and Teresa McCarthy (Discovery) were selected as system-level honorees and will represent MCS at the regional level. 

Recommended for you