Murfreesboro City Schools has announced its 2020-2021 teachers of the year.

Twenty-six teachers from elementary schools were chosen by their peers for the honor based on their commitment to teaching excellence both in and outside of the classroom.

Two educators were selected as system-level honorees and will represent MCS at the regional level for the Tennessee Department of Education teacher awards. They are are Mark Hale from Erma-Siegel Elementary and Tiara Vance from Discovery.

School-level teachers of the year are:

Overall Creek - Melissa Horn, Lauren Moore;

Cason Lane Academy - Rachel Matthews, Jacqueline Keller;

Scales - Kimberly Christopher, Tony Hartman;

Mitchell-Neilson School - Lara Clementi, Brice Reed;

Black Fox - Becky Smith, Dionne McCullough;

John Pittard - Craig Nelius, Carla Calvin;

Hobgood - Kelsey Rone, Abbey Thomas;

Bradley Academy - Alli Nivison, Taylor Witsaman;

Discovery School - Tiara Vance, Meredith Gilliland;

Salem - Emily Cone, Natalie Adcock;

Reeves-Rogers - Shae Miga, Sandra Daniel;

Northfield - Nell Simpson, Sarah Easterly;

Erma-Siegel - Rachel Pepper, Mark Hale.