One Murfreesboro City Council incumbent was turned out in the elections Thursday, while Tennesseans selected the party finalists for the U.S. Senate race to replace retiring Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN).

In the Murfreesboro City Council race, challenger Shawn Wright unseated incumbent Eddie Smotherman. Incumbents Bill Shacklett and Kirt Wade won re-election. Tallies were: Shacklett, 9,903 (27.5 percent); Wright, 9,440 (26.2 percent); Wade, 9,150 (25.47 percent); and Smotherman, 7,181 (19.9 percent).

Smotherman could not be reached for comment at press time.

Wright said, “I am extremely humbled by the support that the City of Murfreesboro has shown me during this campaign. I am honored to serve our great city and look forward to getting to work for the people of Murfreesboro.”

Murfreesboro School Board: Wes Ballard, 10,260 (23.9 percent); Butch Campbell, 11,513 (26.8); Jimmy Richardson, 10,196 (23.7); David L. Settles, 10,661 (24.8). There were four open seats, so everyone won.

In the hotly fought U.S. Senate Republican primary with 15 candidates, former ambassador to Japan Bill Hagerty edged out Dr. Manny Sethi, a Vanderbilt University Medical Center physician, by just over 50 percent to Sethi’s 40 percent. The two had fought in recent weeks about who was more conservative, but Hagerty, who had President Donald Trump’s endorsement, won. Rutherford County preferred Sethi, who took 49.4 percent to Hagerty’s 42 percent.

List of all U.S. Senate Republican candidates: Clifford Adkins; Natisha Brooks; Byron Bush; Roy Dale Cope; Terry Dicus; Tom Emerson Jr.; George S. Flinn Jr.; Bill Hagerty; Jon Henry; Kent A. Morrell; Glen L. Neal Jr.; John E. Osborne; Aaron L. Pettigrew; David Schuster; Manny Sethi.

List of all U.S. Senate Democratic candidates: Marquita Bradshaw; Gary G. Davis; Robin Kimbrough; James Mackler; Mark Pickrell. Bradshaw won statewide with 111,374 votes (36.4 percent). In Rutherford County, she took 6,275 votes, or 42.9 percent.


For the Circuit Court judge Division IV, District 16, Jo Atwood took over 62 percent to John G. “Jack” Mitchell III’s 37 percent. Those totals include Cannon County. In May, Gov. Bill Lee had appointed Atwood to the position.

Atwood said, “It has really been a journey. I’m so humbled and honored, first to be appointed by Gov. Bill Lee and to be the first female Circuit Court judge for Rutherford and Cannon counties. And tonight, for all the citizens of Rutherford County and Cannon County to say ‘Yes, she’s the one who needs to be our Circuit Court judge.’ I’m so humbled by all the citizens who came out and said ‘I support you’ and worked the polls. I must be one of the most blessed people there is.”

County Commission District 10: Incumbent Wayne Blair ran unopposed.

County Commission District 19: Rod Key ran unopposed.

Property Assessor: Incumbent Rob Mitchell ran unopposed.

Road Superintendent: Incumbent Greg A. Brooks ran unopposed.

Road Board Zone 2: Keith Bratcher, 2,887; Tommy D. Richardson, 1,647

Road Board Zone 3: Randal Bubba Jones, 3,082; Michael A Shirley, 3,163

Road Board Zone 5: Michael V. Anderson ran unopposed.

Road Board Zone 6: Paul Johnson ran unopposed.

School Board Zone 2: Patrick Doughtie, 2,195; incumbent Coy Young, 2,583

School Board Zone 3: Howard Jones, 2,189; Rick Kriesky, 1,343; incumbent Lisa W. Moore, 3,137

School Board District 5: incumbent Terry Hodge, 1,509; Claire D. Maxwell, 2,354

School Board District 6: Shelia Bratton ran unopposed.

Federal, state

In the District 4 Republican U.S. House primary, incumbent Rep. Scott DesJarlais took over 71 percent of the vote throughout his district, while challengers Doug Meyer took 18.2 percent and Randy A. Sharp took 10.68 percent. (Rutherford vote tallies were 16,598 for DesJarlais, 3,791 for Meyer and 2,557 for Sharp.)

In the District 4 Democratic U.S. House primary, throughout the district, Christopher J. Hale took 59.2 percent, while Noelle Bivens received 40.78 percent. (In Rutherford County, Hale received 55.88 percent to Bivens’ 44.12 percent.)

Here are Tennessee Legislature primary results:

District 14 Senate: Shane Reeves, incumbent Republican, was unopposed. Chase Clemons ran unopposed in the Democrat primary.

District 34 House: Tim Rudd, an incumbent Republican, ran unopposed. Mary R. Vaughn ran unopposed in the Democrat primary.

District 37 House: Charlie Baum, an incumbent Republican, ran unopposed. Mariah N. Phillips ran unopposed for the Democrats.

District 48 House: Bryan Terry, an incumbent Republican, ran unopposed. Matt Ferry ran unopposed as a Democrat.

District 49 House: Mike Sparks, an incumbent Republican, ran unopposed. Brandon Thomas ran unopposed for the Democrats.

Tennessee Court of Appeals-Western Division, Judge Carma Dennis McGee: 72.7 percent said to retain; 27.2 percent said to replace.

Other notes

County school board members will take office in September.

Mike Browning, Murfreesboro’s public information director, said no date has been set for city council members to be sworn in.

Early voting totals were 25,543, said Alan Farley, administrator of elections. As of Wednesday, 3,803 absentee ballots had been cast. That compares to 2016 election numbers of 12,199 for early voting and 365 absentee.

A total of 23.14 percent of registered voters turned out. All results are unofficial until the Election Commission certifies them.

The Murfreesboro Post asked Farley about social media chatter saying voting machines in La Vergne were not working.

Farley said, “Machines have been working great. We had a slow spell with our database laptops. Search queries were taking way too long.”

Recommended for you