Welcome Visitor
Today is Monday, August 21, 2017

Tracy makes re-election bid official

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

State Sen. Jim Tracy (R-Shelbyville) formally announced Monday that he seek re-election to the 14th District in the Tennessee General Assembly.

The district consists includes Bedford, Marshall, Lincoln and Moore counties, as well as portions of Rutherford County.

Marshall and Lincoln counties, which were formerly in the 13th District, were added as a result of reapportionment legislation passed this year, as required after the decennial census.

The district, otherwise remained largely intact, although it was renumbered in accordance with a state constitutional requirement from the 16th to the 14th District.

"I told the people who elected me that I would represent them with honesty and integrity as their voice in Nashville,” said Tracy, who has served two terms of office in the state Senate. “I also said I would stand against higher taxes and government waste and work hard to create a climate that brings new jobs to our area. I have kept that pledge.”

Tracy said jobs and the economy will continue to be key issues he will focus on in the next legislative session.

Tracy serves as chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee, which oversees all legislation pertaining to roads and highway construction in Tennessee.

He said his current leadership roles on the Transportation, Education and Commerce committees and his experience serving on the School Board and Economic Development Board, as well his role as a small businessman, gives him a well-rounded perspective on bringing new and better paying jobs to the district.

Read more from:
Elections, General Assembly, Jim Tracy, Politics, Rutherford County, State Senate, Tennessee
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: