Six local players make state all-star team

Comment   Email   Print

Related Articles

Rosters for both the East and West squads have been announced for next month’s annual Toyota East/West All-Star Classic.

Six Rutherford County players, representing three schools made the list. They are free safety Dylan Woodruff and linebacker Scotty Boykin from Riverdale High School; cornerback David Emmanuel from La Vergne High School; and wide receiver Tae Martin, defensive tackle John Simpson and quarterback Brent Stockstill from Siegel High School.

This year’s event will take place on the campus of Tennessee Tech in Cookeville. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 8 at Tucker Stadium.

“We are extremely excited about both rosters,” commented Bill Marbet, Executive Director of the Tennessee Athletic Coaches Association, the game’s organizing body.

“These players have had exceptional high school careers and many will continue their play at the college level, many in very high profile programs in some of the major conferences across the country. We think it’s a great group of young men who will represent their respective high schools very well,” he added.

Caine Ballard of Greeneville will serve as the head coach for the East team while Kevin Creasy will lead the West squad.

Players are nominated by high school coaches from all across the state, then selected by the coaching staffs for the game. They represent large and small high schools, both public and private.

The 88 players and 16 coaches involved in the game will arrive in Cookeville on Tuesday evening, December 4. Two-a-day practice sessions are scheduled for Wednesday, Thursday and Friday prior to Saturday’s game.

This year’s game will be telecast live on all of the state’s PBS television stations. It will also be streamed on and on

Fans can also listen to the game on a statewide radio network via WKCS, the FM radio station for Knox County Schools. Fans can access that broadcast at Game information will also be available on Twitter at @tnallstar.

Read more from:
Brent Stockstill, David Emmanuel, Dylan Woodruff, East West All Star Classic, Football, John Simpson, La Vergne High School, Riverdale, Rutherford County, Scotty Boykin, Siegel High School, Sports, Tae Martin, TSSAA
Comment   Email   Print

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: