Welcome Visitor
Today is Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Saint Thomas Health honors local physicians

 Related Articles
Email Print

Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital proudly announces Dr. Elizabeth R. LaRoche being named Physician of the Year during the hospital's 2016 Physician Awards. Dr. Marynelle J. Klumpe received the Clinical Excellence Award and Dr. George W. Smith received the Olin Williams Distinguished Service Award. Awards were presented during the hospital's annual Board of Trustees and medical staff Christmas celebration.

"I am honored to recognize these three individuals who provide such exceptional, compassionate care to our patients, families, Rutherford County and our surrounding communities," said Gordon Ferguson, president and CEO of Saint Thomas Rutherford and Regional Hospitals.

Honored physicians were chosen by their medical staff peers. Areas for consideration when nominating physician of the year include longevity on the medical staff, hospital service, medical staff leadership, offices, committees, hospital board membership, medical and community service, and service to the poor and vulnerable.

"These three physicians are highly respected by their peers, their patients and by the hospital administration, and I am pleased that we had the opportunity to recognize their achievements." said Dr. Peter DiCorleto, chief of staff for Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital.

Dr. LaRoche, obstetrics and gynecology, joined Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital and the Murfreesboro Medical Clinic in 1984 becoming the first female obstetrics and gynecologist physician in Rutherford County. She attended the University of Tennessee College of Medicine followed with her residency at the University of New Mexico Hospital in Albuquerque, New Mexico, in obstetrics and gynecology. She is a member of the American Board of Obstetrics & Gynecology. As a physician leader she has served on the Patient Care Evaluation Committee, Special Care Committee, Continuing Education Committee, Quality of Care committee as well as the Medical Executive Committee. A native of Rutherford County, LaRoche was born at the former Rutherford Hospital and grew up in Murfreesboro.

Dr. Klumpe attended undergraduate studies at Wheaton College in Wheaton Illinois receiving a degree in mathematics Summa Cum Laude. She went on to participate in a biomedical science PhD program at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Klumpe attended medical school at the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center in Memphis where she also completed her radiology residency. Klumpe is board certified radiologist and a partner with Mid-State Radiology, Inc. A note of reference from a faculty member from her residency program calls her "an outstanding resident and radiologist." A peer shared Dr. Klumpe is "completely ethical in her manner of practice."

Dr. Smith, family medicine, joined the medical staff in 1979 opening a private practice in Murfreesboro. He attended Meharry Medical College - George Hubbard Hospital in Nashville, where he also completed his internship and residency in family medicine. Smith is a member of the American Board of Family Practice. As a leader, he served as a Saint Thomas Rutherford Board of Trustee, Continuing Medical Education Committee and Medical Executive Committee. He was instrumental in the establishment of the first rural health clinic in Eagleville, Tennessee.

The Olin Williams Distinguished Service Award was created in memory of Dr. Olin Williams, a general surgeon in Murfreesboro known to have been a compassionate, skilled and gifted surgeon heavily involved in community and church.

Saint Thomas Health provided this report. Saint Thomas Health is a member of Ascension, the largest non-profit health system in the U.S. and the world's largest Catholic health system. For more information, visit www.STHealth.com


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: