Mr. Football winners announced

Comment   Email   Print

Related Articles

Tennessee’s best high school football players for 2012 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by the Tennessee Titans.

One of the award winners is Cornelius Elder, a Murfreesboro resident who plays for Ensworth in Nashville.

Siegel High's quarterback Brent Stockstill was beat out by Beech's Jalen Hurd in the Division I, Class AAA Back category.

More than 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2012 luncheon at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.

“Today’s celebration recognizes more that the ability of these young men to play our great game of football,” said Titans Owner K.S. “Bud” Adams, Jr. “The young men were here because of their outstanding character and academic achievements, traits which will pave their way through life, long after their football days has passed. I congratulate all of the Titans Mr. Football Award finalists for the outstanding manner in which they represent their school and community!”

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2012 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. For the eighth time in the history of the award, the top kickers in the state were recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school’s classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.

Division I, Class A Lineman
Tyler Coen, Gordonsville

Division I, Class AA Lineman
Brett Kendrick, CAK

Division I, Class AAA Lineman
Austin Sanders, Bradley Central

Division II-A Lineman
Chase Hensley, USJ

Division II-AA Lineman
Derek Barnett, Brentwood Academy

Kicker of the Year
Jonathan King, Farragut

Division I, Class A Back
Will McKamey, Grace Christian

Division I, Class AA Back
Charlie High, CAK

Division I, Class AAA Back
Jalen Hurd, Beech

Division II-A Back
Todd Kelly, Knoxville Webb

Division II-AA Back
Cornelius Elder, Ensworth

Read more from:
Beech, Brent Stockstill, Cornelius Elder, Ensworth, Football, Jalen Hurd, Mr Football, Murfreesboro, Siegel High, Sports, TSSAA
Comment   Email   Print

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: