Welcome Visitor
Today is Monday, April 24, 2017

Election Commission elects Jones as new chair

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
On Friday morning, the Rutherford County Election Commission elected a new chairwoman, Doris Jones.

Jones replaced Tom Walker, who resigned late last month after serving as chairman of the commission since 2008.

Rutherford County Republican Party Chairman Jimmy Evans was also welcomed in as a new member of the election commission.

The commission also discussed plans to hire a new administrator to replace Hooper Penuel. Penuel was fired after mistakenly failing to open the commission for early voting on specific dates leading up to the Aug. 5 election.

Applications for the administrator position will be available on the county’s website. The deadline to apply is Dec. 8 at noon.

The commission will hold interviews and hire a new administrator on Dec. 14 at 9 a.m.

Commissioners also discussed making some sort of charitable donation in honor of Amy Williams, a former administrator who passed away last week.

Read more from:
Doris Jones, Elections, Hooper Penuel, Tom Walker
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: