Welcome Visitor
Today is Saturday, December 3, 2016

County general election, primary vote signup ends

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
Today is the deadline to register to vote in the Aug. 7 county general election and state primary election.

The federal primary for U.S. Senate and House of Representatives will also be held on Aug. 7.

The county election features contested races for superintendent of roads and property assessor while state senate and representatives races feature at least one contested party primary for every seat for election.

Those wishing to register in person today can do so at the Rutherford County Election Commission office on the Public Square or at the Smyrna office at 63 N. Lowery St.

According to the commission's Web site, registration in person can also be made at the following offices:

County Clerk’s Offices
Department of Health (WIC program),
Department of Human Services,
Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation,
Department of Safety (motor vehicles division)
Department of Veteran’s Affairs
Public Libraries
Register of Deeds Offices

Registratation by mail must be postmarked by today.

Early voting for the election starts July 18 and runs through Aug. 2.

The slate of candidates for the Aug. 7 election is:

U.S. House of Representative 6th Congressional District
• Bart Gordon (D)

State of Tennessee Senate, 16th District
• Dee Butler (D)
• Jean Anne Rogers (D)
• Jim Tracy (R)

State of Tennessee House of Representatives 34th House
• Jerome Perkins (D)
• Rishi K Saxena (D)
• Donna Rowland (R)

State of Tennessee House of Representatives 48th District
• Rick Parks (D)
• Tim Tipps (D)
• Joe Carr (R)
• Jon Jaques (R)
• Lou Ann Zelenik (R)

State of Tennessee House of Representatives 49th District
• Kent Coleman (D)
• Kevin N. Fisher (R)
• Rick Womick (R)

State of Tennessee House of Representatives 62nd District
• Curt Cobb (D)
• Barbara Blanton (R)
• Chris T Brown (R)
• Frederick “DANNY” Lowe III (R)

Circuit Court Judge, 16th Judicial District, Div, II
• David Bragg (D )

Assessor of Property:
• John Barbee (D)
• Bill D Boner (R)

Road Superintendent
• James M (Mike) Williams (D)
• Buddy Gambill Jr (R)

Road Board Zone 1 Districts 14, 19, 20
• John Goad (I)

Road Board Zone 3 Districts 4, 6, 7
• Randal (Bubba) Jones (I)

Road Board Zone 6 Districts 13, 15, 16
• Jared Barrett (I)
• Paul Johnson (I)

Road Board Zone 7 Districts 17, 18, 21
• Michael V. Anderson (I)

School Board Zone 2 Districts 1, 2, 3
• Grant Kelley (I)
• Rob Vaughter (I)

School Board Zone 3 Districts 4, 6, 7
• Donald L. Jernigan (I)

School Board Zone 5 Districts 17, 18, 21
• Terry L. Hodge (I)

School Board Zone 6 Districts 13, 15, 16
• Mark Byrnes (I)
Read more from:
City Council, Congress, Elections, General Assembly, Property Assessor, Road Board, Road Superintendent, School Board
Comment   Email   Print
Members Opinions:
July 08, 2008 at 12:00am
Lots of folks with no competition. A shame with all those who complain about "same old same old".
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: