Welcome Visitor
Today is Thursday, January 19, 2017

Aug. 5 Election Guide

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
Aug. 5 marks a monumental day in Rutherford County.

Not only are they tasked with choosing their party’s representative for the next governor and members of the House of Representative, they are also asked to choose who leads the county for the next four years, as well as school board and road board members.

In the run up to Election Day, The Murfreesboro Post gave the candidates an opportunity to address voters in their own words.

Voters will choose the county mayor, trustee, sheriff, circuit court clerk, county clerk, register of deeds and county commission.

Rutherford County Trustee is running unopposed in his re-election bid and is not included in the guide.

The public also will select persons to represent the Republican and Democratic nominees for the 13th State Senate District, Tennessee House of Representatives for the 34th, 48th, 49th, and 62nd Districts, State Party Executive Committeeman and Committeewoman.

In the State Senate race, candidates Republican Bill Ketron and Democrat Debbie Matthews are running unopposed in their respective primaries.

In the State House of Representatives 48th District, Republican Joe Carr and Democrat David Laroche are running unopposed in their primary, as are Democrat Kent Coleman and Republican Mike Sparks in the 49th District race.

In the State House of Representatives 34th District race Rick Womick is running unopposed in the Republican Primary.

These candidates will be profiled in a future edition of the Post.

Early voting for the Aug. 5 election began Friday and will continue through July 31 at locations around the county.


Rutherford County Commission Candidates

Find your commissioner.


Rutherford County Sheriff Candidates

Democrat Truman Jones, Republican Robert Arnold


Register of Deeds Candidates

Democrat Jennifer Meagher Gerhart, Republican Heather Dawbarn


Circuit Court Clerk Candidates

Democrat Eloise Gaither, Republican Laura Bohling


County Clerk Candidates

Republican Lisa Duke-Crowell, Democrat Lisa Harrell


County Mayor Candidates

Republican Ernest Burgess and Independent David Limbaugh


State House District 62 Candidates

Democratic Candidates:  Jenny Hunt, Mike Winton. Republican Candidate:  Pat Marsh


State House District 34 Candidates

Democratic Candidates: Bill Shacklett,  Mike Williams


U.S. House of Representatives District 6 Candidates

Dee Butler, Ben Leming, Diane Black,  Bruce McLellan,  Jim Tracy, Lou Ann Zelenik

Read more from:
Elections, RuCo, State
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: