Welcome Visitor
Today is Tuesday, August 22, 2017

9-1-1 operators honored at luncheon

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

Since being officially designated by Congress in 1991, public safety agencies across the country have recognized the instrumental role played by telecommunicators during National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week.

Telecommunicators are the dedicated professionals who answer 9-1-1 calls, process requests for service, and utilize technical skills to provide communications support to law enforcement, fire and rescue departments, and emergency medical services. The second week of April is dedicated to these “first first responders” who serve as public safety telecommunicators.

The Rutherford County Emergency Communications District will hold an awards breakfast Friday, April 12 at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center to honor five telecommunicators who are being recognized by their respective public safety agencies for exemplary service.

“It has been a long standing tradition that the Rutherford County Emergency Communications District Board of Directors has dedicated time each year to honor the outstanding men and women who answer the public’s calls to 911 seeking help,” RCECD Director Steve Smith said.

The 2013 recipients of the Telecommunicator Awards are Jennifer Dray of the Rutherford County Sheriff’s Department, Tiffany Matthews of the Murfreesboro Police Department, Lindsey Lester of the Smyrna Police Department, Candace Elmore of the La Vergne Police Department and Kelly Dotson of the Rutherford County Emergency Medical Service.

“The Rutherford County Emergency Communications District continues to ensure that our 911 public safety answering points are provided the most current 911 technologies available. The benefits of such technologies however, would not be realized without the dedicated service of those individuals recognized by their departments this week”, said Smith.

Created by public referendum in 1986, the Rutherford County Emergency Communications District provides Enhanced 9-1-1 emergency communications services through five public safety answering points (PSAPs) operating within Rutherford County.

Read more from:
Candace Elmore, Kelly Dotson, La Vergne Police Department, Lindsey Lester, MPD, Murfreesboro, Police, RCSO, Rutherford County, Rutherford County Emergency Medical Service, Sheriffs Office, Smyrna Police Department, Telecommunicator Awards, Tiffany Matthews
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: